Anniversary edition: 25 years of the European Concert All concerts on DVD

Available versions

They form perhaps the most unusual series of classical music concerts: the European Concerts of the Berliner Philharmoniker. Every year on 1 May, the orchestra makes a guest appearance in a place of special significance to European culture, from the Uffizi Gallery in Florence to the Palace of Versailles. The series celebrated its 25th anniversary in 2015. To celebrate the occasion, an anniversary edition with all the European Concerts was released on DVD which we are offering in our online shop.

more ...

With the European Concerts, the Berliner Philharmoniker celebrate the anniversary of the founding of the orchestra on
1 May 1882 and at the same time they remember Europe’s common cultural heritage. In addition to the many, often spectacular, venues, the recordings boast a top-class line-up of artists. Central to these performances – in addition to the Berliner Philharmoniker themselves – are chief conductors Claudio Abbado and Sir Simon Rattle plus there are many close friends of the orchestra such as Daniel Barenboim, Mariss Jansons and Gustavo Dudamel. There are also famous instrumental and vocal soloists, making this edition a panorama of classical music of the last two and a half decades.

This extensive edition is supplemented by numerous short documentaries presenting the respective venues and their histories.

show fewer details

25 years of the European Concert
Berliner Philharmoniker
Claudio Abbado, Daniel Barenboim, Pierre Boulez, Gustavo Dudamel, Bernard Haitink, Mariss Jansons, Zubin Mehta, Riccardo Muti, Simon Rattle 
Emanuel Ax, Radek Baborák, Daniel Barenboim, Lisa Batiashvili, Kolja Blacher, Bruno Canino, Cañizares, Sarah Chang, Gautier Capuçon, Plácido Domingo, Leonidas Kavakos, Anatoli Kotscherga, Magdalena Kožená, Karita Mattila, Thomas Moser, Truls Mørk, Emmanuel Pahud, Maria João Pires, Mikhail Pletnev, Vadim Repin, Christine Schäfer, Eike Wilm Schulte, Gil Shaham, Cheryl Studer, Violeta Urmana. Alisa Weilerstein, Frank Peter Zimmermann 


  • DVD

    Anniversary edition: 25 years of the European Concert

    All concerts on DVD

    show details

    DVD 1–25
    Concerts from 1991 – 2015

    Additional features / Behind the scenes

    Running time
41 h

    Region Code
0 (worldwide)

German, English, French

128 pages / German, English, French

    show fewer details

    US$ 99.00
    Excl. shipping